Summarizing a Semester of Social Media

After a semester of being graded on my social media use, my mixed feelings toward social media are surfacing again. I currently have a strong desire to step away from all social media platforms for a month or two. I have felt too connected, too glued to my screen, and I think a break from the social side of the Internet will do me good.

This being said, I don’t regret taking a social media class. In fact, I am really glad I did as I feel my personal social media presence and brand has strengthened considerably. I can now also back this statement up with facts, as my Klout score clearly has risen by a solid 5 points over the past few months, showing that my social media impact has grown. I am also now more conscientious about what I post and how I am conveying myself to friends, strangers and potential employers on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. (While I’ve also enjoyed posting on Google+, I will be ignoring this platform once I no longer am being graded on it.) In addition I’ve gained knowledge about posting, presence, and brand as it can be applied for companies and organizations, and I know this will help me as I look for a job in the coming months.

Screen Shot 2014-04-29 at 10.12.42 AM

These tabs have constantly been open on my browser this semester.

While I’ve enjoyed spending time on social media sites, convincing myself that checking my Twitter feed over and over is actually homework, it has not been all fun and games. My weakness when it comes to social media is the marketing side. I am not the best when it comes to numbers and charts and understanding what a return on investment means. But after taking this class I can hold my own and use analytic tools and metrics to measure social media use effectively. I now recognize just how important it is to keep track of the numbers, as this is the only way to be positive that what you are posting on social media is helping you or your company achieve the results you want.

I may take a break from social media for now, but this is in no way goodbye. The use of social media in this world is continually growing, and I know social media will continue to be a part of my life in the future. I have learned so much this semester that I will continue to use going forward. The most important thing that I am coming out of this class knowing is that social media sites are very influential and can help a business or a personal brand gain momentum, attention, or business, but it must be used in the right way. In order to use social media effectively you must post with a purpose or goal in mind. You have to measure to see what works and what does not. And most importantly, you have to understand that social media and the way these platforms are used always are and always will be changing.

I am excited to see what I will continue to learn about social media in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

